With whom?

It’s Sunday morning 8:37AM and I have nothing better to do than writing a new blog entry. Today it’s about collaborations between (members of) Radiohead and other musicians. Of which there have been a lot. And some of the music produced is so beautiful it might just be your Sunday morning inspiration.

I’ve been collecting Radiohead’s music for a while now, and that includes (like a real fan) everything. All their albums, live recordings, bootlegs, foreign issues, limited editions, rare recordings..and duets, collaborations (mostly Thom Yorke doing the vocals) and others. Sometimes I know the other artists, sometimes I don’t. I find this part of collecting quite fun. Especially when one finds something totally unexpected.

Last week I was watching the Japanese movie Kokuhaku (Confessions) and I could have sworn I heard a very familiar voice. And indeed, after a little searching I found that Thom Yorke was singing Last Flowers, a track featured on the In Rainbows Bonus Disc. Beautiful.

So I thought I’d make a little list of the collaborations I am aware of (to be found on YouTube), but there might be more. If you spot something..please do let me know! Enjoy.




I’m just waiting

The long wait for the new album is over. And it looks promising. Aside from the expected bucket load of artwork, there’s an 11-track (only) CD, double vinyl, digital download and Special Edition (including art album, 2 LP’s, 2 CD’s and a piece of an original master tape..from anywhere in their recording history – back to Kid A) available.


I’ll have to skip on the last one though..it’s pricing puts it just outside what I’m willing to pay for this release. But..it might just show up somewhere cheaper later on in life, these things have happened before (but not when you give away your limited edition clear vinyl copy of TKOL to your best friend :P).


As for the music..I can’t tell you much yet! I’m going to order the CD or LP and will have to wait a month, at least. Or I’ll just wait altogether for it to show up in stores because for me it’ll 2x the going rate because of shipping cost. Meh. A-Moon-Shaped-Pool11 Tracks isn’t much, but the beauty of this release is that, as I understand it, most of these tracks have been in the works for many years now. Could have ended up on previous albums but never did. Were never quite ‘ready’ to be released. So it’s really a peek into Radiohead’s past, a little. And I am excited over that. But I tell myself I’m a patient man, so I’ll suffer through the additional time. It’s not all bad. Waiting makes results sweeter doesn’t it? We’ll see..



Probably quite inappropriate to some, but perfectly fine to me. Music is a thing. It’s always on, I’m always searching for undiscovered gems, in whatever genre. I can’t remember when I wasn’t asked to put something on, look for some tunes or just cast in a corner with a laptop and provide some beats while the party continues. Not strange then that my music library is perpetually out of storage space and that’s a good thing I don’t spend my very last cent on vinyl. Because there wouldn’t be a house large enough to contain it, nor a bank account deep enough to pay for it.

2016livedjsetsSo..every now and then I look around and find shit. And nowadays I just put what I find in some kind of playlist or mix or whatnots..burn it or upload it to ‘the clooouudd’, and leave it right there. It’s contagious though..because I can’t stop. I keep infecting myself with this virus. It’s MAS. Not GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome). And I like it. Stop me.

These are a few of the latest compilations (I make them for myself but whoever wants one, being inner-circle-friend and all, can get one). Totally stupid ‘album art’ but who cares. I like it and that’s all that matters, non?


I’m not dreaming


Because the good news is finally here: new album (digital) release on May 8th. I am overjoyed and can’t wait to hear what’s in store for us. The pre-released two videos (Daydreaming being the latest) are encouraging..but personally I hope there’s a few more up-tempo tracks on this album. I’ve been missing that..and have been dwelling on TKOL RMX 1234567 for a long time now (especially Caribous awesome remix), and enough is enough.


Another thing I’m looking forward to is the new album art. Being an enormous fan of Stanley Donwood’s art, I’m eagerly anticipating what’s going to be on the new album and singles.

Here’s the latest single Daydreaming:



Almost forgot! During my extended stay in Buffalo, NY this winter, I was lucky enough to find the 1995 Original Motion Picture Soundtrack CD at the Record Theatre for US$ 2.99. Talk about random. If you’re ever in that area, pay them a visit. Vinyl, tape, DVD, CD, VHS..you name it they have it, and they’re rather cheap. I think they have an eBay store as well. And I’m sorry..as good as the 2012 movie was, the original 1995 with Sylvester Stallone is IMHO still the best, by far. Over-the-top, brought-to-life comic..it’s all bad and that’s why it’s so good.


Have a listen to (part of) the original score composed and directed by Alan Silvestri:


And there you have it..an old piece of 1995 orchestral music composed for a soundtrack, not even complete, just a shard of it, is removed almost before the upload is complete. Copyright infringement. Ah well. I guess you just have to look the damn thing up yourself then. You can listen to some tracks via the MP3 button. Bullshit intelligent software. Reminds me of when I uploaded a home made movie to Facebook..which identically swiftly got removed followed by a legal letter stipulating how to contest this decision (for a fee, obviously) and a life-time ban on uploading video. Yeah..Facebook is such a nice place to be..

What I CAN show you is the Judge Dredd OST from the Judge Dredd game for SNES by Acclaim. Also 1995, and also fun:

Anyway, back to the original CD. This is the track listing:

  1. Dredd Song – The Cure
  2. Darkness Falls – The The
  3. Super-Charger Heaven – White Zombie
  4. Need-Fire – Cocteau Twins
  5. Release the Pressure – Leftfield
  6. Judge Dredd Main Theme – The Sinfonia of London
  7. Judgement Day – The Sinfonia of London
  8. Block War – The Sinfonia of London
  9. We Created You – The Sinfonia of London
  10. Council Chaos – The Sinfonia of London
  11. Angel Family – The Sinfonia of London
  12. New World – The Sinfonia of London



Burn The Witch


Finally! It’s been a while since something new came from my RadioHoofd friends, but the new single is here. And I think it’s pretty good (after just hearing it once). I’m dying to see them again live..but the only opportunity here is a festival in Quebec for which no day-passes are available, only the whole thing, and thus waaay too expensive. Bugger. Now to wait for the new album..and new possibilities to see RH live..

So..what do YOU think?